Parental Alert | There’s a game you can’t get away from –

Although it is not information that everyone is aware of and which is often ignored on purpose, it is always necessary to rememberand a feature that video games have and whose knowledge could lead to much less problems with those who are wary of the world of videogame entertainment.

In fact, each video game, in addition to being classified as a genre, which allows expert players to be directed immediately towards what they like, has a age classification. In fact, there is the so-called Pan European Game Information or, more simply, PEGI.

PEGI is a system of classification using the age benchmark. This tool is valid for almost everything European territory. The exception is Portugal, whose current legislation conflicts with European standards. Finland had a similar problem but, thanks to a regulatory intervention, in 2007 adopted the same regime as the rest of Europe.

That of PEGI however is an indication that not everyone respects: how many times we witness complaints that could be avoided if only attention was paid to this visible and clear parameter on the cover of every game bought? It must have happened to everyone, when they were young, to play video games unsuitable for their age and, perhaps, for that very reason, have more fun.

Just think about GTAone of the most famous sagas in the gaming world: rated 18+, full of both physical and psychological violence, weapons, drugs, prostitution and yet, despite all this, the amount of minors who have played it is incredible. According to data reported by SNC, 70% of American children have played at least one title of the saga.

How PEGI works

PEGI symbol

The PEGI system usto 5 types of classification, based on various evaluation parameters, in order to guide parents and children towards an informed purchase. The 5 classifications are:

  • 3: indicates specific material recommended a any age group. The characters in the game will be mostly cartoonish and unreal. They could be more realistic in certain contexts such as the closest possible reproduction of athletes for sports simulators such as FIFA. Violence is often absent or, if present, in a very sweetened way.
  • 7: the argument made for the first category is almost entirely valid but ithere are starting to be restrictions since, games with this rating may contain cartoony or fantasy sounds or images that may induce a feeling of fear in the player. Partial nudity and foul language are occasionally found there. An example of PEGI 7 is Crash Bandicoot or some titles of the saga of The Legend of Zelda.
  • 12: indicates mostly games fantasy or not, more mature such as themes and images. The characters are closer to real humans and there is partial nudity and profanity, albeit to a lesser extent. There is no shortage of sexual allusions and jokes. Among them we find games such as Fortnite or Tekken.
  • 16: suitable games mostly to teenagers. They feature real characters and are set in fantasy or normal settings. The violence is more realistic and they have far fewer restrictions on nudity and bad language. Among them, we recall games such as Final Fantasy or Horizon: Zero Dawn.
  • 18: games only suitable for adults with very realistic and detailed scenes of violence, images and noises capable of altering the psychological state of the person causing fear or anguish. Among these we mention precisely Grand Theft Auto (GTA) or God Of War.

Provided and minors

Screenshot of Fortnite parental controls
Parental controls

Fortnite is one of the best known and most loved video games of recent years. Among its ranks of players can be counted people of any age, which has led the title to become a global phenomenon as has rarely happened previously to other titles.

The Fortnite team, after getting quite a few complaints about that far too many minors played without restrictions, made a very important and, in some ways, highly unpopular decision.

The team of the famous game of Epic Games has in fact decided to block players who will not prove they are over 18 from their accounts. In fact, players will have to answer a one-off question about their age and, if they are minors, they will be blocked.

There are ways to keep playing. Once you have declared that you are a minor, you will need to provide Fortnite an email belonging to a parent or legal guardian, so that they can be the one to give permission to play. Beyond that, it will need to enable parental controls at stake.

Also, if you are under the age of 18, the default settings of the voice chat will be set to “None” and your profile details will be automatically hidden in everyone’s eyes. In addition to this, the mature language filter will be active.

And it won’t be easy to get smart either: if any of these parameters are changed, the Epic team will send an email to the parents or designated guardianto warn of the change.

Finally, we leave you an invitation from players to future players: Play responsibly and let your children play responsibly.

We wish to give thanks to the author of this short article for this outstanding content

Parental Alert | There’s a game you can’t get away from –

Check out our social media profiles as well as other related pages